Cocktail Hour–The Martini

Fun new feature on the blog today – Cocktail Hour.  Featuring some of my favorite cocktails, and my suggestion on what to wear while enjoying them.

DSCN1994I thought I’d start with my signature, the Martini.  I am a self-professed martini purist and some might say “snob”.

Somewhere along the way, someone decided it was  “hip” thing to call any beverage in an “up” glass (the iconic triangular shaped stemmed glass) a “martini”.  They were severely misguided.

A martini is one thing and one thing only; some gin, a splash of vermouth (some people like to simply wave the cap over the glass, but I like nice healthy splash), stirred, with some olives (because it’s never good to drink on an empty stomach, and who doesn’t love a drink with a built in snack?).

What to wear while sipping your martini?  I think there’s only one thing to wear with such a classic cocktail; a little black dress.  Here’s one of my favorites from Banana Republic.

DSCN2007

(I wouldn’t suggest driving a Vespa after drinking a martini, though.  Prison stripes are not attractive.)

Here’s a couple other options for you.

Cocktail Hour - Little Black Dress

Classic Martini Recipe

  • 2 1/2 ounces gin
  • 1/2 ounce dry vermouth
  • 3  olives

Preparation:

  1. Pour the ingredients into a mixing glass filled with ice cubes.
  2. Stir for 30 seconds.
  3. Strain into a chilled cocktail glass.
  4. Garnish with the olives.
This entry was posted in Cocktails, Eveningwear, Outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

